Malappuram is the fifth district of Kerala when counted from the north. Capital of the district is the Malappuram Town. It is a densely populated district. As per 2001 senses the population is 3,629,640. The area is 3550 square kilometer. 90% of people are dependent on Gulf jobs.

Malappuram district was formed on 16th July 1969 with 6 Taluks, 15 block panchayaths and 100 village panchayaths. The seven municipalities are Malappuram, Mancheri, Thirur, Ponnani, Perinthalmanna, Nilambur and Kottakkal. The Calicut university and Karippoor airport are in the district.

The district shares its boundary with Kozhikkode and Vayanad on the north, Neelagiri district of Tamilnadu on the north-east, Palghat district on the south and south-east side and on the west, the Arabian sea.

The Malabar district, which was once the main district in Chennai State, was divided into three district viz, Kannur, Kozhikkode and Palghat following formation of Kerala state on 01 November 1956. This district was formed in 1969 by uniting the Eranad and Thirur Taluks of Kozhikkode district and Ponnani and Perinthalmanna talukes of Palghat district. The Malbar riot and Khilafath riot add to the history of the district. These riots were against the British bureaucrats and local landlords. These riots are noted as part of freedom fight of India.

Place of Attraction
Thirur Thunchanparampu Memorial
Thirumandhaamkunnu Temple
Thirunavaya Temple
Ponnani Lake
Kadalundi bird sanctuary
Cherupadiyam Hills
Ariyoor beach
Kodikuththy Hills
Panthalloor Hills
Vandoor Shiva Temple
Karkkad Subramania Temple
Kadampuzha Bhagavathy Temple
Oorakam Hills